top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

Spring Makeup

Spring is known as the time for a new beginning, an awakening.


In sunny Santa Barbara, people are accustomed to sunshine and the warm ocean breeze. Yet, this winter in Santa Barbara was dreary with gloomy clouds and random bursts of rain throughout the day.


However, now that winter is gone, spring is here and with the sun back, people have replaced their windbreakers for their favorite loose t-shirts and Birkenstocks.


In addition to abandoning warm clothing, heavy matte makeup is also long gone. The aisles of new products at Sephora feature sparkly, bright eyeshadows along with dewy highlighters and blushes.


Spring is when we get a chance at a fresh start and what better way to do that then to change the way we do our makeup? So, say "goodbye!" to brown tones, and "hello!" to silky, champagne tones with pops of colors.


My spring makeup routine takes me less than 10 minutes and my goal is to make it look effortless, carefree, while still looking fresh and happy.


My complete spring makeup look

The Base:


I no longer wear foundation because I firmly believe "less is more" and I also do not want my makeup to fade if the sun continues to shine brightly throughout the day.


After applying sunscreen, I use the Glamglow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow and smooth it on my cheeks, nose, and chin to add a nice sheen to the skin with extra hydration.


I then use the Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer to hide my dark under-eye circles, which are inevitable due to late-night study sessions. I use some around my nose and the corners of my mouth as a highlight, and I also dab some on blemishes, blending everything out with my fingers.


I believe products can be multi-purpose, so I use my Stila Heaven Hue's Highlighter in Kitten not only to highlight my cheekbones, but to also give them a peachy flushed color because I want to look like a nice, soft Georgia peach.


Because I am extra, I take a bit of my Benefit Watt's Up Highlighter and add it to my cheekbones, so I can light up any room I walk into.


I am left with a dewy, lit up face that is fresh and ready for the day, despite getting five hours of sleep (college, am I right?)


The Eyes:


I have not groomed my eyebrows in years, hoping they would be like the magnificent Lorde's brows, but I am not there yet. I love natural-looking and full eyebrows, so I use my beloved Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade in Blonde to achieve that look.


For the eyes, I keep it simple by taking some of the same highlighter I used on my cheeks and dab a small amount on my eyelids. I then use a Maybelline eyeshadow to highlight the inner-corners of my eyes and brow bone.


I coat my eyelashes with multiple layers of the Vivienne Sabo Cabaret Premiere mascara to elongate and thicken them.


The Lips:


The last step of my makeup routine is applying a shiny gloss. I use the Clarins Instant Light Comfort Oil in Candy, which hydrates and softens my lips.


Fin:


There you have it! The breeziest look for spring that says you are ready for whatever the day ahead can bring, whether it be going to a park for a picnic, drinking kombucha, or sipping on a nice glass of rose.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page