top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

A Week of Outfits

I work from my parents' house and it's the best because I get to dress up for work every day.


Every morning when I leave my sister's place and either hop on my bike or walk to "work," I'm already more excited for the day since I'm wearing something I feel cute and comfortable in. Plus, it makes sitting at a desk all day easier to manage. It's funny how by virtue of dressing up, my productivity level is at an all-time high and even my mood lightens.


Here is what I wore this week:


Monday

H&M pants (similar), Uniqlo turtleneck, thrifted cardigan, Doc Martens 1460 boots.


My sister and I are wrestling with our love for shopping and try to talk ourselves out of buying excess things. She brought up a good point that her friend mentioned, which is the idea of "shopping out of your closet." When an occasion arises, I'm quick to hop online to find the perfect attire for said occasion, but I forget that the best place to shop for an outfit is my closet.


That being said, I totally forgot about these H&M trousers I bought four years ago. I've been hunting for nice black trousers, but for now, I'm happy with these! I love preppy clothing and these pants complete that love. They're cropped, making them easy to style with boots, sneakers, or flats. I paired them with Docs, which give me extra height and help tone down the preppiness of the pants. I like balancing different styles and the boots give the look a grunge vibe.


I wore a turtleneck underneath and paired it with a thrifted cardigan. I struggle to style this cardigan because it is a very "grandma" sweater. In fact, my sisters thought it was my grandma's when I showed it to them. Sweaters and knits are trendy right now, so I'm happy I shopped in my closet for this hidden gem.


Tuesday

Fila crewneck, Carhartt jeans, Converse shoes, Unintentionally Blank hat.


Gosh, Tuesdays are harder than Mondays. That's why I wore this baby blue Fila sweater that feels like a soft blanket. This sweater kept me comfy and cozy while I worked away at my computer.


I wear these black Carhartt jeans every week. They go with everything and their boyfriend fit makes them feel like they're not even jeans. I'm a fan of normcore and this outfit is my take on it. It has the basic normcore elements–jeans, fleece, and comfortable sneakers. But it's still me, since my fleece crewneck is not a neutral color and the Fila logo is plastered on the front of it. Normies don't like overt logos, so I definitely didn't fulfill that part of the aesthetic. Still, I get why normcore is so popular. It's simple, yet refreshing. Comfortable and cool. I don't need much else!


Wednesday

Zara pants (similar), Nordstrom top (try this), Doc Martens 1460 boots.


Does anyone else struggle to get out of bed on Wednesdays? It's the middle of the week, I'm tired and still recovering from Monday madness and Tuesday tiredness. These flowy Zara pants feel like pajamas and their cinched waistline can be tied with a small bow. This detail with the gingham print makes the pants more interesting. I decided to wear them with a light striped cropped sweater that I tucked in.


This outfit made Wednesday easier to get through, since it felt like I was relaxing in loungewear.


Thursday

Secondhand Levi overalls (similar), thrifted Ralph Lauren sweater (similar), Hue tights, Converse x JW Anderson sneakers (sold out).


January 7th marks Christmas in Russia, so to celebrate I wore red and blue. Luckily, it hasn't been that cold in Sacramento, so I wore overalls with tights. Old me would've been so bummed I couldn't wear my favorite overalls during the cold months, but new me problem solves! I wore tights with them, making these summer overalls work in the winter time. It's practical, while making the overall outfit interesting.


I finally wore this red turtleneck I thrifted a while back. It's festive for the occasion and keeps me warm. To go along with the Christmas theme, I wore my sparkly sneakers that have all the Christmas colors on them. Happy *Russian* Christmas!


Friday

& Other Stories pants (similar), Ralph Lauren dress shirt (similar), Doc Martens 1460 boots.


It's Fri-YAY and my wide-legged corduroy pants are bigger than my future! Ha! Just kidding, but I do love these pants. I recently realized how my view of fashion depends on how I feel in clothing. I learned what shapes and silhouettes make me feel good and what makes me feel myself.


I used to wear skinny jeans all the time and I still have some in my closet. But wide-legged and straight-legged pants are way more comfortable to wear. They're pragmatic and can be rejuvenated with bold shoes, a fitted blazer, or a chunky sweater. Whereas skinny jeans are too restricting for me literally and metaphorically. Since I'm a fan of minimalist and maximalist fashion, I find wide-legged pants are often composed of different materials, prints, and colors. Skinny jeans can also come in a variety of styles, but different compositions go quickly out of style and then I'm left with a closet of multiple pairs left untouched. I'd rather have a bunch of wide-legged paints that suit me left untouched because I know I can go back to them whenever and feel free.


I wore my beloved pants with a Ralph Lauren button-down I purchased ages ago. It's made out of 100% cotton and has lasted me through many laundry days. It's all about quality and it's safe to say this top is meant to last!

 

That's all from me today, friends! I'll be back with another post soon in a few days. Tell me in the comments below–do you get dressed even though you work from home? What clothing makes you feel your best?


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page