top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

My Very "You" Look

If an outfit could sum you up, what would you wear?

My style fluctuates on a scale from minimalist to maximalist. My minimalist outfits include monotoned billowy tops or pants, whereas my maximalist outfits make me a rainbow-colored bunch of cotton candy. If I'm wearing a maximalist look, I certainly max out in being as extra as possible by wearing as many bold colors, prints, and textures my mind can fathom. Puffy sleeves, checkered pants, and a tweed blazer is my go-to formula. Oh, and adding another necklace or any accessory is my not-so-secret ingredient to the mix.


But most days, you can find me wearing something in-between. I lean towards the minimalist side of the scale because it's where I feel most comfortable and confident. I love wide-legged pants and wearing a chunky sweater atop a fitted shirt.

As someone who likes pretending they live in a busy city with multiple errands to run, I opt for pieces that don't constrict my every movement. If I want to skip for joy after receiving some good news, I sure hope I can raise my legs. If I want to kneel for a picture as if I'm back in 2017, I hope my pants allow that because I want to be as suave as Rihanna.

Source: @badgalriri on IG

A couple of years ago, I bought these cropped wide-legged Gap jeans, and regardless of the season, I find a way to wear them. They're a staple in my closet because they can complete a minimalist or maximalist look. Because I gravitate towards seemingly androgynous clothing, I paired these pants with an oversized striped shirt from Zara. Here's a fun fashion hack for those of you that love white pants: if you know you're going to bop around the city for the day and will ride all sorts of public transportation ranging from a city bike to the light rail, I highly recommend wearing a longer top. I can't exactly recall the number of times I accidentally sat on a park bench and then ruined my pants, but let's just say it was too many. So, wearing a longer top is perfect if you still want to wear white without the fear of accidentally plopping in someone's leftover coffee or croissant crumbs on a park bench.


To stay in line with my love for maximalism, I added a touch of clash by wearing a striped cropped J.Crew sweater. The colors of the shirt and sweater match, but the pairing stands out beacuse of the the sweater's bold stripes and the peep of the shirt's collar. I wore my favorite gold Dr. Martens with pink socks that feature a plane with text (that you sadly can't see) saying "heading towards my next mistake." I think it fits my personality, since being an overthinker doesn't necessarily equate to being reckless-free. The city is full of surprises and you never know who or what you'll run into. Maybe you'll catch some friends mid-afternoon and will find yourself at Happy Hour, despite knowing you have to drop of your mail-in ballot at the nearest dropbox (*please don't forget to vote*).

Pink is my favorite color, so when I saw the Longchamp Le Pilage Club Tote in pink on sale this past summer, I had to get it. It's the perfect touch of whimsical. Plus, it can fit an outrageous amount of stuff ranging from books, jars of almond butter and jam from your local food co-op to a fresh baguette that you're going to enjoy later with said almond butter and jam. It's the perfect bag

to throw on a blanket in a park for a delight-

ful picnic and a good read.


Following that soft touch of color, I added fun colors to my nails that matched my spunky glitter eyeliner by Urban Decay in the shade "Stage Dive." While the popular minimalist fashion rule is "less is more," the greatest thing about maximalism is simply to forego all fashion rules. That's why I chose to wear vivid makeup, finishing the look off with a bold lip in the shade "Menace" by Urban Decay. It's such a great lip color and adds playfulness when wearing a structured and minimalist outfit. For those of you that haven't found a classic red lipstick, I highly recommend checking out dark pink or fuschia shades instead!

*my makeup and nails match one of my all-time favorite books=happiness*


As for hair, I've been playing around with different hairstyles, since I've been growing out a pixie for the past year. My hair is definitley in an awkard stage that makes it very tempting to chop again, but I'm refraining from that urge by wrapping up my hair in mini space-buns. I adore how my framed bangs pair with the mini buns, making my hair appear fresh.


This look is very me and it lends itself to a bunch of activities: a walk, browsing through a bookstore, cruising on a bike, grabbing lunch with friends, and so many more.


I'd love to hear about your favorite looks and what makes you feel your best! How do you manage eclectic tastes? What pieces do you love strutting in? Do you have a go-to lipstick that makes you feel you? Let me know!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page