top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

The Quick Pace of Life

Updated: Apr 17, 2019

I enjoy people watching and lately I noticed a common thread in the actions of older adults.


From my encounters with older people in the streets, or on public transportation, I noticed they rush.


I can recall many instances where in grocery stores or on the bus, older people tend to hurry through the aisles, as if someone behind them will berate them for taking their time.


Just the other day, I saw an older gentleman attempt to be quick in getting on the bus as soon as possible, as if he did not want the driver to wait an extra few seconds as he walked to sit down.


I connect quickness to independence because I frequently complete daily activities alone. Grocery shopping, reading at a coffee shop, or flying to Santa Barbara grew from being daunting experiences to cherished rituals, bringing me joy as I strut confidently knowing I can support myself. The type of support, which gives me the ability to take care of myself, while doing simple activities. For instance, I can easily carry hefty bags from my car to my doorstep, I can briskly grab a coffee before rushing off to class, and I can easily merge through swarms of people in crowded places.

These tasks usually require being quick. This quickness can be physical, such as being quick on one's feet, or it can be mental, such as being quick in remembering to-do lists or directions without strain. This quickness in a physical and mental sense provides me the ability to individually complete a task without relying on someone else to do it for me. I take pride in completing such tasks rapidly without any hesitation or help from anyone.


However, this agility is harder to achieve as we age.


By observing older people rush, I experience sadness. Sadness from seeing them struggle to keep up quickly with life and its tribulations, but also sadness from the possibility of them hurting themselves by rushing when no one is pressing them to do so.


Every time my 92 year-old grandma hurries to shut off the hose after watering all her plants, my heart skips a beat and I chide her for not being more careful. My biggest fear is to see her fall after hurrying so fast, when no one else is pressing her to do so.


For all I know, I could be giving deeper meaning to older people's actions, but I think being quick is one of their remaining ties to the independence they once had in their youth.


In our youthful age, we can be quick to individually accomplish whatever tasks we have at hand and quickness shows vitality and strength that only decreases as we age. As we age, we physically become more fragile.


This fragility inhibits the ability to move quickly, which disheartens me. Because I spend the majority of my life being active and being on the go with my routine, it scares me that one day I will not be able to be as fast to complete my normal routine.


Daily tasks I would do alone are not going to remain the same as I age. I might have to ask others around to help me, or practice being patient with myself and how I cannot always be as swift as I once was.


However, these observations have made me look at older people rushing in a different light. Instead of feeling sad for how much they seem to hurry for those around them, or fearing they will harm themselves, I now look at them proudly.


Their vigilance in keeping up with the quick pace of life is admirable and age is not stopping them from their tie to independence.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page