top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

To Muse on This Weekend:

Happy October!


Are you doing anything fun this weekend? I'm heading to Lake Tahoe with my sisters. I'm excited to breathe in the fresh air, swim (if the water isn't too cold), and read as much as I can without any distractions. Hope you have a good one, and here are some things to muse on if your heart desires:


This personal essay about grappling with two different racial identities. It grabbed my attention because the writer, Jiayang Fan, tells the story of how she and her mother were attacked online by Chinese nationalists simply because Fan needed care for her mother, who lives in a nursing home and suffers from ALS. But the story goes beyond this. It talks about a mother and daughter immigrating to the US from China and understanding how living in the US shaped their identities. At times, they felt all of their Chineseness or Americanness. It made me think about what truly belonging feels like. My favorite lines:


"I sincerely thought that I could slip in and out of these different versions

of myself; they were like costumes, and, if sewn and crafted with sufficient

skill, they would help us keep going, my mother and me. There was only

one problem: I didn’t know that a person capable of engineering multiple

identities was not necessarily a person who could control the borders

between them."


This cute video in which Brie Larson celebrates her birthday with us. She talks about what it feels like turning 31 and how getting older has helped her like herself more.


This pumpkin spice latte you can make at home looks delicious!


& Other Stories is having a 50% off sale. These boots caught my attention with their circular heel.


I can't stop watching the new Netflix show Emily in Paris!



Marc Maron's interview with Alicia Keys was enlightening. My favorite bit was when Keys talked about growing up as an only daughter and always pleasing everyone around her. Now, she speaks her mind, makes her own choices, and feels stronger than ever!


Sufjan Stevens came out with a new album!


These colorful monotoned Entireworld sweatsuits are so fall.


This latest Humans of New York story is so worth scrolling back for.


xoxo

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page