top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

To Muse on This Weekend:

Hi, friends! I hope you are doing well. Last weekend I was an emotional wreck and spent this entire week recovering from the many mini-breakdowns I had. I'm looking forward to taking it easy this weekend and appreciating the little things.


What are you up to? My sister and I are hosting our lovely neighbors for happy hour because they are moving next week. It'll be bittersweet, but I'm trying to stay positive...Anyways, hope you have a good one, and here are some things for you to muse on this weekend:


This essay titled "Out There: On Not Finishing" by Devin Kelly put into words all the false beliefs I have about myself and how life should be. Kelly writes,


"This kind of reduction — of linking personal growth to

accomplishment — does not honor the inconsistencies of life,

the in betweens, the moments when finishing something doesn’t

feel good enough, or when achieving something just makes you long

for the next achievement. This is why tense matters. If we are defined

by what we have done or what we will do, then we, each day, seem to

forget the present tense: what we do. This tense is shifty. It elides. It loses

itself in the past and drives off a cliff into the future. It is full of insecurity,

of difference. But it is where we live."


This essay put into perspective the "aha moment" I had in therapy earlier this week. I put a lot of expectations on myself because the achiever in me wants to do great things. I want to achieve many dreams, but they often go over my sanity's capacity limit. When I'm constantly on the go, working non-stop, since capitalism and my inner critic told me my worth lies in my achievements, I quickly burn out and fall into a deep blue sea of sadness. I lose track of what I'm literally doing and living through. I struggle with being mindful and keeping track of where I am, whether it's a symbolic point in my life or just a dinner with family. Kelly's words reminded me of this part of myself that I am trying so hard to show kindness to. It's okay to not accomplish everything we want. This essay inspired me to slow down, breathe, and live with more patience and ease.


One of my favorite writers for The New Yorker is friends with John Mayer and let's just say I spent a very long time looking at this amazing photo of John. P.S. Happy birthday, John!

Long-haired John! Source: @frynaomifry

My favorite song on the album is "Wild" ft. Gary Clark Jr. The lyrics are so simple and beautiful, to say the least:


"I wanna drive you

Wild, wild, wild

I wanna love you

For miles and miles

We can go slow, we don't need to rush

I'll take the wheel, make you feel every touch

I wanna drive you

Wild, wild, wild"


This mini-documentary about Berlin by one of my favorite YouTubers made me miss traveling AND confirmed Berliners are the cOoLeSt PeOpLe on the planet. Mark my words, I will live there one day!


This personal essay by Ann Patchett reminded me family relationships are complicated, messy, weird, but beautiful.


Fenty Beauty is having a 25% sale! This Deep Neutrals palette is perfect for fall.


I can't get enough of this scent!


I added a bunch of these positive affirmations to my routine.


How cute is this ceramic mug?


This sweater makes me happy.


This profile of Timothée Chalamet is great and the photos are perfect.


xoxo


Tori

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page