top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

What are you Thankful For?

I didn't feel like celebrating Thanksgiving this year.


First off, this "holiday" was established to celebrate the land stolen from Native Americans. Secondly, 2020 has been one big slap in the face and it was hard to give gratitude for anything this year.


But deep down, I knew great things did happen this year. I turned to my journal and searched for answers. I looked through entries in which I wrote about fear, loneliness, and weekly breakdowns.


It felt like I was looking for a needle in a haystack. My heart felt heavy and I thought to myself, "Damn, was there really nothing good?" But flipping through the pages led me to finding those moments that made this slow season something special.

J.Crew skirt, Uniqlo sweater, Topshop coat, Converse shoes

I'm thankful for:


-My supportive family. Thank you for listening to me and calling me out on my bullshit.


-Anna! I'm forever grateful my big sis let me live with her once the pandemic swept through the country. We made so many memories, laughed/cried a lot, and I finally learned how to properly do laundry.


-Friends that are only a quick text or call away.


-Technology! As much as it scares me, I'm grateful for online friends that I hope to one day hang out with. I'm also very grateful I can keep in touch with friends abroad. <3


-Activists. I'm so inspired by my beautiful friends and other activists they've introduced me to. Their determination to dismantle systems of oppression and fight for liberation gives me a future to believe in.


-Dancing. Honestly, if I didn't rock out at least once a day, I would be more of a hot mess.


-The ability to attend church online. I grew up in the church, but haven't attended it consistently in years. Because of the pandemic, I didn't have an excuse to skip its livestream, since I was always home. It brought me comfort and showed me nobody has it easy during these times.


-Anxiety. As much as I hate spending 90% of my life worrying and stressing, I'm thankful for my acute self-awareness. I'm learning to accept my anxiety because it makes me stronger every day.


-My mom's hugs because they're the best.


-This blog! Without it, I wouldn't have explored my creativity. I also probably wouldn't have landed my SEO internship...


-Spirituality and meditation. I'm learning to trust in a higher power and myself more and more each day.


-Letting go.

 

What are you thankful for?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page