top of page
  • Writer's picturetorimuser

Zoom Interview Outfits

Dressing up for interviews is already stressful enough. It's tricky because you want to look professional, but you also want to show, "Hi! I can get the job done, but I also have a fun personality and can bond easily with your team members." After all, in an interview, you're trying to show what you can bring to the table.


Now that our world has adjusted to cyberspace, with working remotely from home, job interviews are held online, too. I've compiled three outfits for those of you who (like me) are currently trying to prove hiring managers YOU are the right person for the job, despite them literally seeing a small glimpse of yourself through a screen. Dressing to impress has never been truer than now!


As for makeup, I wanted my skin to glow. This is challenging because webcams cannot capture you clearly and make you look grainy. To avoid this, I used my It Cosmetics Illuminizing CC Cream with a beauty blender. This product makes your skin glow and bouncy, helping you shine through the screen. I used a Max Studio pink lipstick (a similar shade here) as my blush, which added a healthy, rosy color to my cheeks. To bring out the blush, I highlighted my cheekbones with Stila's highlighter that melts seamlessly into the skin.


I filled in my brows with an Anastasia brow pencil to keep them natural and used shades from the tartelette flirt eyeshadow palette. I kept the eye look simple and fresh by dusting "gaze" over the entire eye area, blending "hotline" into the crease, and adding "passion" to the lid for some shimmer.


Here are the outfits I chose:


Look 1: A Blazer with some Spunk

The blazer is a classic look for interviews. But I'm not a fan of stiff blazers because they make me feel stoic -- they mold me into someone, dare I say, boring?!


To add a bit of personality to this look, I wore a Rachel Roy blazer, cuffing its sleeves to show off its flowery inner lining. If you're a hand-talker like me then wearing accessories can add some pizzazz. I wore pastel crystal bracelets, which seemingly contain zen properties and the bonus of adding some vibrancy. Looking poised and balanced during an interview is a good strategy, but using color can show off your personality qualities. Here, can you tell I'm fun, bubbly, AND professional? Lastly, I wore my classic pastel Swiss watch and a simple necklace, which brought out the smooth velvet texture of my top.


What else I'd opt for:

*Blazers, like this one here, this satin boyfriend-fitted one, and this fun houndstooth print blazer!

*Tops, like this tunic top, this puff sleeve top in multiple solid colors, and this one with lace detailing!

*Accessories, like this watch, this delicate necklace, and these chunky bracelets!


Look 2: Simple and Effortless

A solid muted color love-sleeve blouse with details, such as lace or a simple design as seen in the top I'm wearing here, is usually my go-to for an interview. Pro-tip: face a window for good lighting, especially if you're wearing a solid color! You don't want to melt into your background because you should stand out and be visible!


The top I'm wearing is from Target, which has great affordable options, as seen here, here, and here! Dressing up for a remote interview doesn't have to be costly and you can elevate some of the tops in your closet with a headband, a pretty hairpin, or even a silk scarf!


Look 3: Classic White

A white-colored top is effortless and a great option for an interview. White looks clean, put-together, and it goes with everything! My advice for you would be to iron your top, especially if it's cotton, so that way it'll look extra crisp. Because this Zara dress-shirt is simple, I tucked my hair behind my ears, so my triangular silver earrings would pop. For emphasis, I added a glittery liquid eyeshadow to my lids because who doesn't want to shine during an interview?


What else I'd opt for:

*Dress shirts, like this fitted one here, this poplin one, and this balloon sleeved blouse here!

 

Hopefully, these looks give you some inspiration for what to wear for your virtual interview. But keep in mind to do YOU! Wear what makes you feel comfortable, confident, and yourself! You got this.


xoxo







0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page